Congrats to our U13 D7 County Champions

Killygarry 2-19(25), Kingscourt 2-2 (8)

There was great cause for celebration after a very convincing win for our U13 boys Div 7 team over Kingscourt on Wednesday last in Kingspan Breffni. They got off to a great start. Their reactions were quicker and their scoring accuracy was excellent. They were six points up before Kingscourt got of the mark at the end of the first quarter. The defence had to play its part too. On more than one occasion Kingscourt broke through but cool heads and brave tackles snuffed out the threat. Goalie Cian Brides and full-backs Evan Williams and Andrew Fallon were particularly prominent. The forwards kept the scoreboard ticking over in the second quarter. The highlight was a Shay Hyland goal after a powerful run where he took every inch out of the two-touch rule before he rifled an unstoppable shot into the corner. Ben O’Hagan, Fionan Swardiek, Odhran Heron and Ronan Reilly also added to the scoreboard. The halftime score was Killygarry 1-10(13), Kingscourt 1-2(5).

The lads kept the pressure on from the start of the second half. Substitute Xavier Reilly got the first point. Shay Hyland and Ben O’Hagan monopolised the scoring for the rest of the game. Ben O’Hagan’s determination and grit resulted in a well-deserved goal in the tenth minute. Management made multiple changes from the bench but they did not weaken the team. Kingscourt’s only score in the second half was a late goal. This is a testament to the quality and skill of our substitutes.

All the players and the management team deserve huge credit for this achievement – Div 7 County Champions for 2022

Killygarry: Cian Brides, Senan Hyland, Evan Williams, Conor Maguire, Enda Clarke, Dylan McDonald, Odhran Heron (Capt.) (0-1), Tom Doherty, Fionan Swadiek (0-1), Shay Hyland (1-9), Eoghan Pryce, Jake Andrews, Xavier Reilly (0-1), Frank Lovett, Andrew Fallon, Cormac Maguire, Mikey McGovern, Ben O’Hagan (1-6), Conall McManus, Ronan Reilly (0-1), Tom Brides.

Management Team: Sean Grey, Mel Doherty, Brendan Moran, Michael Smith, Damien Keaney and Padraig Reilly.

By noel Fri 9th Sep