Under 17s win Div 4 Championship Shield Final

U17 Div 4 Champ Shield Final – Killygarry 1-18(21), Naomh Bríd 1-16(19)
(after extra time)

Congratulations to our Under 17 Division 4 squad who won the Championship
Shield Final against Naomh Bríd last Saturday in Drumalee. They were
behind 1-7 to 0-8 at halftime and in a tense and evenly matched contest
remained a goal behind entering the final stages. A huge late rally
however saw the lads score three unanswered points to level the game and
send it to extra time. Thereafter the major drama unfolded. Killygarry
went two ahead and looked to have the advantage as tired and cramped
bodies appeared all over, however Naomh Brid rallied to go two ahead
entering the final minute of the game. What happened next contains all
we love and often despair about sport. A point behind Killygarry won a
dirty ball in the middle of the field, despatched it through the hands
till it arrived in the full forward line. Similar to Italia 90, all in
attendance “held their breath” as a point would draw the game and take it
to penalties, however with a super strike the ball flew past the keeper
and nestled in the bottom corner of the net to give Killygarry a two
point win with literally the last kick of the game.

It surely was hard luck to Naomh Brid who were excellent throughout a
game which was played to a very high standard. For Killygarry however we
had excellent performances throughout the pitch. Dylan Wall and Adam
Kelly were dominant in defence. Josh O’Hagan and Daragh Donohoe seemed
to play multiple roles and were superb. Conor Gilsenan played a captains
part throughout and was superbly supported by his brother, Thomas and
Cousin Daragh. Martin Shiels scored a fine first half point to keep us
in touch at a crucial time, Oisin Caffrey toiled throughout and took a
couple of huge knocks as he laid off ball to his teammates. Daire Moran
was superb and scored heavily while Sean McDermott took the clutch score
with aplomb. Aside, Jude McManus, Rossa Greaney and Ben Murphy worked
tirelessly around midfield and were ably assisted by Dylan Tormey and
Oisin McCabe.

Well done to all and a sincere thanks to Naomh Brid for an excellent and
sporting encounter.

Killygarry: Calum Kelly, Dylan Wall, Adam Kelly, Josh O’Hagan, Rossa
Greaney, Daragh Donohoe, Jude McManus, Kevin White, Daire Moran, Ben
Murphy, Martin Shiels, Oisín Caffrey, Sean McDermott, Conor Gilsenan,
Dylan Tormey, Daragh Gilsenan, Oisín McCabe, Thomas Gilsenan, Mac
Quigley, Nili Tuipulotu, Killian Reilly.

By noel Mon 19th Sep